It’s Christmas Eve! + A Little Life Update

I’m obsessed with this season – I love heart warming festive movies and the carols that are played on repeat at the mall, but I’m yet to be fully enthused for the 25th itself. Perhaps I’m still reliving fond childhood memories that simply can’t compare to Christmas as an adult. I love seasons that bring people together, especially when it removes technology by going back to hand written cards and simply just being present – person-to-person. More realistically, it’s a season that reminds us to celebrate people, and I think we need more of that in this world. On a more materialistic level… I love gift wrapping, so all the wrapping paper, bows and glitter involved in this season is a D R E A M! But most importantly, it’s about spending time with others. I hope you’ve all spent time with people who matter most to you (and have gone out to see Christmas lights – essential at this time of year).

I’ve been less active on social media for a little while, as I’ve adjusted to more of a clueless holiday schedule. So much has changed this year, to the point that if my life were a film there would be countless plot twists to continually confuse the audience. I’ve met a lot of new people this year, some have been so amazing that I’m so grateful for the friendships that have formed. But with meeting lots of new people.. comes meeting people who aren’t so great.. I believe each person has their own story and that we can always learn from others; whoever they may be. So through meeting these types of people, I’ve been able to organise my priorities and identify what I truely valued. With all the dramas that 2017 seems to have held.. my love life often seemed to be a somewhat recurring topic. I’m used to being open and sharing my experiences, but this year it’s made me appreciate keeping certain topics such as this private. One thing I will say about about new friendships and relationships is this: be chill, be respectful and don’t forget your self-worth.

Fitness wise – I’ve been contemplating whether or not to compete next year. With plans to graduate mid 2018, I’m not sure if competing while being a new grad is the smartest idea. I’m exercising far less due to an injury – at times it’s depressing to think that an environment that used to be so stress relieving, can now provoke so much stress. But it is what it is, and we just have to keep going. I still very loosely follow a diet, which probably isn’t the healthiest as it mainly consists of fruit and Peckish crackers.. Goes to show that a calorie deficit and cardio keeps you lean (NB: don’t take my dietary habits as a guideline to get lean, my methods work for me but I wouldn’t advise it to others). In saying that, I’ll most definitely be in a calorie surplus tomorrow.

Thanks to those who have checked in on this blog every so often, WordPress displays the stats of each day, and it amazes and overwhelms me that people actually read this (Don’t worry, it doesn’t tell me who you are, for those who like to stay anonymous). Please know that the comments you leave don’t go unnoticed – there are some truely  kind souls out there that’s for sure! If you made it this far, well done for getting through this mundane post.

I hope you all have a splendid day tomorrow.  Merry Christmas!

-E

 

Leave a comment